fdelaplante
i would like to dye a down winter jacket, Canada Goose brand.  It’s currently light blue and would like black or navy.  The exterior shell looks like a cotton polyester blend, though not sure because the tag has been removed.   I would need any advice on what type of dye or product to use and method.  I have never worked with dye before. 
Thanks,  Francine
Quote 0 0
Jacquardmod Jacquardmod
https://www.canadagoose.com/us/en/fabric-tech---arctic-tech/fabtech-modal-arctic-tech.html

This says it is 85% poly 15% cotton

The problem I see here is that it has a waterproof coating added to it.  That is always bad for dyeing. IF you try to remove this coating will it be successful, will it make it really streaky?  You can try not removing the coating as well and that means your dye job is going to be unpredictable.  Coatings like this used to come off really easily with washing, but now they are getting better and better.  A premium coat like this might have a nice waterproofer on it.  

So before we start, are you prepared to have a disappointing outcome here?  Is it worth a jacket with a ruined color to try to change?  I am saying this because I think there is an element of unpredictability I am not comfortable with, and i know these jackets aren't something that you can replace on a whim.  
Quote 0 0
fdelaplante
Thank you for your prompt reply. This coat has not been used for several years as it is at least two sizes too big for me. It has only been worn a few times. However, it fits my husband perfectly. He’s not too keen on the baby blue colour. Yes, it appears to have some waterproofing. I’m ready to take my chances in changing the colour. It’s a rather expensive item to give away.
Should I wash it prior to changing the colour? This may remove some weatherproofing. Please advise on which product I should try along with the method.
Thank you for your help!
Francine

waterproofing
!My reason for changing
Quote 0 0
Jacquardmod Jacquardmod