fishugly
I have two different packs I use for outdoor recreation. Both are made from a heavier nylon of some sort.

One is black and green (forest green). I would like to dye it so it was all black.

The other is black and yellow (mustard yellow). I would like to dye it so it was all black.

Though limited, I have some experience dying two different nylon items using RIT dye.... since that is all that's available to me, and within a stones throw. I wasn't concerned so much with the outcome as I was simply trying to "darken" light colored materials. This time though, I'm a little more concerned. I don't care to have some funky purplish color.

Will a black dye suffice for what I want to do? Or do I need to be thinking about different colored dyes to turn my colors to black?

Any and all advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Quote 0 0
Jacquardmod Jacquardmod
Rit is a direct dye, and while it will work on nylon to some extent, you would be better off with an acid dye that is used at the same temp and just the addition of white vinegar would create a better black. 

Now, you have green and yellow here.  I would consider also getting a jar or violet acid dye for the yellow, and maybe some scarlet for the forest green in addition to the black.  The reason is because dyes are transparent, and when you dye something black you can often see the color underneath.  You need to neutralize those colors with their complementary color. You don't add much.  I would use a whole bottle of black on the packs, but only about 1/10 of the bottle of color.  You don't need a lot.  This will work too with Rit, but you may not get as dark a black as you want.  

Acid dyes are what they used on your pack originally most likely.  
Quote 0 0
fishugly