Dye O'Nysus
I've not got the coat yet, so I can't tell you what it's made of, but it's not expensive so I expect it'll be 100% polyester.

I want the colour to end up vibrant, so I'm a little wary of using iDye Poly because another post on here recommends boiling faux fur for no longer than 20 minutes, and I'm not sure that'll be long enough to get a true colour. I've certainly seen a YouTube video of someone trying to dye a white faux fur coat bright orange using iDye Poly, and hers ended up a light peach colour. I mean, I could always do it more than once, but that seems like a lot of hassle.

Besides, I've never worked with faux fur before and other sources online suggest that it's not a good idea to get it that hot at all.

The other thing I've seen suggested is using Dye Na Flow and Airfix. My ideal end result actually has the coat have a gradient from one colour to another, so being able to paint the dye on might be even better. I can even create a cool effect by painting with one colour and then doing the "roots" another. I'm sure this'll take longer, but might end up better over all if the fabric dyes properly.

My questions, though, are as follows.

Are there any materials that the faux fur could be made out of that Dye Na Flow won't work on? Would brushing the fur as I'm going make the dye less likely to take? As it's a trench coat, how much dye am I likely to need? And will using the Airfix mean that the dye won't come off if the coat gets wet at all? Will it matter if I get caught in the rain wearing it? Can I put it in the washing machine if it gets dirty?

I'm completely new to dying, so please explain like I'm 5 years old.
Quote 0 0
Jacquardmod Jacquardmod
You absolutely have to figure out what it is made of first.  That girl who dyed the coat orange did not have a polyester coat, it was acrylic.  Idye poly works on acrylic just a little bit for pastel colors.  For Acrylic you can use Basic dyes at a lower temp and get a great result.