sophiedufort
My name is Sophie Dufort. I am a Florida artist, an accidental crafter who has developed a passion for art and challenging experiences. I started crafting about two years ago at age 48, and kept going ever since. I love, love Jacquard products. I am particularly fond of Lumiere paints, which I have been using a lot lately. Here are a couple of my creations. Mother Nature.jpg
Quote 0 0
Jacquardmod Jacquardmod
Wow you have used Lumiere really effectively!  What are your sculptures made from?  You have achieved making them look like real metal for sure.
Quote 0 0
sophiedufort
The top sculpture has an aluminum and wood structure that I covered with fabric dipped in hardener then added art pebbles of different sizes. The head of that statue is made of thermoplastic. I first spray-painted the entire thing in flat black then used Lumiere metallic paints to color it. 

The mask is made as follows: the face - air dry clay, the embellishments - clay, fabric and metal. Also spray-painted in flat black before applying Lumiere paints. On the face I used mostly waxes (as opposed to the first sculpture, where I used Lumiere paints on the face as well).

I believe that spray-painting first helped a lot emphasize the beauty of the Lumiere paints. Also, on the thermoplastic face, the texture of the thermoplastic made it easier to paint, as it has that woven look that is very suitable for vibrant, shiny colors. I could have used Lumiere as well on the face of the mask, but I don't have too much experience with painting, and I was afraid that I may ruin the face by accidentally applying too much (as that one was a lot smoother).
Quote 1 0
Mossmilldesign